The Arctic

Photo by Vladimir Maksimov
Photo by Vladimir Maksimov

Photo exhibition "The Arctic" to take place on November 18 - December 14, 2014 within the framework of The Arctic Days in Moscow. It is organized by the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, with the support of the Russian Geographical Society, the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation and the Government of Moscow.

"We want to introduce the richness, beauty and diversity of the region to guests and participants of The Arctic Days." -  says Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Sergei Donskoy.

The exhibition will show the past and the present of the region, heroic efforts of polar researchers, the beauty of arctic unique nature and wildlife, new perspectives on modern technologies for development of the region.


Photo by Alexander Taran
Photo by Alexander Taran

A special exhibition is devoted to the realities of oil and gas producers’ life in the Far North. It was prepared by "Gazprom Oil".

Guests will be the first to see a unique photo essay made during the filming of Alexander Miller’s new feature film "Territory". The premiere is scheduled for February 2015.

20 November, 2014, at 5.30 p.m.,the Opening ceremony of the Photo exhibition will take place, featuring the Minister of Natural Resources and Ecology of the Russian Federation S. Donskoy, famous explorer of the Arctic and Antarctic A. Chilingarov, Heads of regions: Yamal-Nenets Autonomous District, Arkhangelsk region, Nenets Autonomous District, Sakha Republic (Yakutia), Chukotka Autonomous District, Krasnoyarsk Territory, delegates of the Arctic Council, President of RAS V. Fortov, artists, scientists, and others.

The exhibition is taking place at the Multimedia Art Museum (ul. Ostozhenka, 16).

Authors of the works:

Sergey Anisimov - arctic photographer, founder of the project Global Arctic Awards.

Lev Granovsky - photographer, geologist, explorer.

Sergei Dolya - known blogger, photographer, traveler.

Pavel Kosenko, Maxim Avdeev, Alexander Taran, Sergei Makhalov Eduard Gizatullin, Vladimir Maksimov and others.