Crystal Compass Award: finalists announced

Photo is provided by the Krasnodar regional office of the Society
Photo is provided by the Krasnodar regional office of the Society

The expert council of the Crystal Compass National Award has chosen the 2018 finalists. The meeting of the council took place at the Moscow Headquarters of the Russian Geographical Society..

Among the jury members there are representatives of the Russian Geographical Society: Honorary President of the Russian Geographical Society, Academician Vladimir Kotlyakov, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Vice-President of the Russian Geographical Society Alexander Chibilev, first Vice-President of the Russian Geographical Society Artur Chilingarov, member of the Media Council of the Russian Geographical Society TV presenter Nikolay Drozdov, Information Policy Advisor to the President of the Russian Geographical Society journalist Anastasia Chernobrovina, TV and radio presenter, television and radio host, candidate of biological sciences Ivan Zatevahin, Director of the Institute of Geography Olga Solomina and other prominent scientists and public figures.

Winners will be announced at the VI Solemn Awards Ceremony May 20, 2018. Crystal Compasses made of silver and crystal will be given to authors of best projects in 10 categories.

In nine categories, the winners are defined by the members of the expert council, and in one category, "Public Recognition", the winner is chosen by a popular vote. This year the expert council has decided not to award for the "Best ecological project of industrial enterprises and business".

The Crystal Compass National Award, a prestigious international award in geography and ecology, has been given since 2012. It is aimed at finding and promoting the best achievements and projects focused on the conservation of nature and historical and cultural heritage of the country.

1531 projects from 35 countries and 84 regions of Russia have been submitted. More than 1.6 million people took part in the special category "Public Recognition", where the winner is defined by online voting.

The event is conducted under the auspices of the Russian Geographical Society and Gazprom Company.