The Society

Subscribe to RSS - The Society

The Russian Geographical Society was established by the highest authority of Nicholas I in 1845. It is one of the oldest geographical societies in the world.

History of the Society

Nowadays, the Russian Geographical Society continues to follow the time-honored traditions established by its founders. Geographers, ecologists, geologists, ethnologists, statisticians, photographers, mass-media representatives, travelers and those, eager to learn about Russia and ready to help to preserve its natural riches cooperate with the Society.

Regional branches of the Society operates in each of 85 subjects of the Russian Federation.

See the Structure and Projects of the Society.

The Board of Trustees of the Society, headed by the President of Russia Vladimir Putin was established in 2010. The Board has restored years-long traditions of patronship and instituted grants of the Society.

Defense Minister of Russia Sergey Kuzhugetovich Shoygu was elected the President of the Society in 2009.

Representatives of the Russian imperial dynasty, distinguished travelers, researchers and statesmen headed the Society over the past.

Statesmen, scientists and public figures from Russia and abroad are among the honorable members of the Society: P.P. Semenov-Tyan-Shansky, S.Yu. Vitte, N.I. Vavilov, V.I. Vernadsky, F.P. Wrangel, A.M. Gorchakov, V.I. Dal, V.A. Obruchev, Albert I, Prince of Monaco, Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden, Oscar II of Sweden, King of Iran Naser al-Din Shah Qajar; and famous travelers and explorers Fridtjof Nansen, Roald Amundsen, Thor Heyerdahl, Jacek Pałkiewicz.

The Russian Geographical Society’s expeditions played significant role in discovering Siberia and the Far East, Middle and Central Asia, and the World Ocean.