Constantine Medal of the IRGS

Subscribe to RSS - Constantine Medal of the IRGS

About the medal

The Constantine Medal – a gold medal worth 200 silver rubles – was the highest award of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society. The medal was established by Society’s first chairman, Great Duke Constantine, and quite expectedly, was named after him. The medal was awarded from 1849 till 1929 inclusive. From 1924 till 1929 the Medal was called “The highest award of the Russian Geographical Society”.

Established on

December 3, 1946

Awarded for

The Constantine Medal was awarded annually for a valuable contribution to geographical knowledge. Its recepients were  either  explorers, who have made a significant geographical discovery or  authors of outstanding publications in geography, ethnography or statistics of Russia.

The first recipient

The Medal was first conferred in 1849 on E.Gofman, for his excellent work during the first expedition of the Russian Geographical Society to the Northern Urals (1847-1848), of which he was the head.

Other recipients

1858 – Ivan  Aksakov, for his research into trade fairs in Ukraine;

1863 – Vladimir  Dahl, for the Explanatory Dictionary of the Russian Language;

1878 – Adolf Nordensheld, for his voyage and research in the Arctic Ocean along the northern coast of Western and Eastern Siberia;

1900 – Vladimir  Obruchev, for his publications on Asian geology;

1902 – Pyotr Kozlov, for the 1899-1901 expedition to Tibet;

1905 – Alexander  Kolchak, for participation in Baron E. Toll’s expedition, and for the journey to Bennett Island in particular;

1907 – Grigoriy  Grum-Grzhimailo, for all his works in Asian geography and for his “Description of a journey in Western China. Volume III”;

1907 – Fridtjof Nansen, for his remarkable feats, which constitute a whole era in the Arctic Ocean exploration;

1874 – Nikolai  Przhevalsky, for his pre-eminent scientific research, geographical discoveries and travels to Mongolia and the Tangut land.