Fund raising for the monument to Przewalski

Great Russian traveler Nikolai Mikhailovich Przewalski
Great Russian traveler Nikolai Mikhailovich Przewalski

The year of 2014 is the year of 175th anniversary of the birth of the great scientist, one of the most respected world travelers, an honorary member of the Russian Geographical Society Nikolai Mikhailovich Przewalski. 

In the homeland of the researcher - in Smolensk - a monument is planned to be installed. 

Chairman of the Smolensk regional branch of the Russian Geographical Society Alexander Katrovsky, chairman of the Smolensk Oblast Duma Igor Liakhov and head of the city of Smolensk Evgeny Pavlov appeal to all Russians to help to realize this idea. 

«Many important initiatives and important things in our country were carried out with the support of people, - say authors of the project. - We offer to make the installation of the monument to Przewalski a nationwide project».

The initiative to install the monument was supported by President of the Russian Geographical Society Sergei Shoigu. 

Monuments to many famous people in Russia are “people’s”. One of the most famous monuments erected on people’s money is the monument to “citizen Minin and Prince Pozharsky” in Moscow, next to the Cathedral of St. Basil. Money for the monument to Pushkin in Pushkin Square of the capital was gathered at the initiative of the Tsarskoye Selo Lyceum graduates. The monument to Gogol in Nikitsky Boulevard in Moscow was also built on public donations. 50 thousand rubles required for the construction of the first monument to Lomonosov in Arkhangelsk was being collected in two years. The Russian Geographical Society hopes that the monument to Przewalski will soon appear in this list.

The work is planned to be be done in two stages. An open competition to design the monument has been already announced and then the monument will be manufactured and installed in Smolensk. 

Patrons who have donated funds for the installation of the monument to Nikolai Mikhailovich Przhevalsky: 

Katrovsky Alexander Petrovich 

Eliseev Oleg Nikolaevich

Kravklis N.N. 

Khromchenkova N.V. 

Demchenkov V.R. 

Romanenkova S.A. 

Kudryavtseva T.V. 

Fatkullina Raisa Raifovna 

Yas'kova Tatiana Ivanovna

Kochergin Alexander Semyonovich 

Blagovestova Tatiana Evgenievna

Mazhar Nikolay Evgenievich 

Mazhar Larisa Urievna

Tolstous Oleg Ivanovich

Lyakhov Igor Vasilievich

Pototskaya Tatiana Ivanovna

Employees of the Executive Directorate of the Russian Geographical Society  

Representatives of the Omsk regional branch of the Russian Geographical Society